NEWS > General
Posted by Equestrian New South Wales on 19/10/2016.

Helmet Regulations Updated

The helmet approved standards list has been updated in the Equestrian Australia (EA) General Regulations as from 19 October 2016.

Current American standard SNELL E2001 and British standard PAS 015 have been added to the list of approved safety standards to offer a wider range of choice for our members.The new Australian ARB HS 2012 standard has been added to the ongoing and current AS/NZS 3838 Australian standard. This standard has been published by Racing Australia in 2012.EA’s responsibilities include maximising safety in our sport. That is why from now on, except where Sport Rules allows otherwise, riders and drivers competing in an EA competition, must wear an approved helmet with the chin strap fastened at all times. The same is recommended when riding a horse at any time.Judy Fasher, Chair of EA says “Equestrian Australia is pleased to have aligned our rules with international standards for riding helmets. The new rules offer variety, combined with the most advanced technology available in the production and design of riding helmets.”Following the withdrawal of the safety standard EN1384 in Europe during 2014-2015 EA had followed the movement in February 2016 by informing members that the EN1384 standard would not be permitted as of 1 January 2017 and that in addition, the new VG1 was a new approved standard on the list. The year notice gave riders time to purchase new helmets if necessary. See the February 2016 statement HERE.

As per the EA General Regulations, Article 122.2: Dress and Salute, the following will apply: 

Except where Sport Rules allows otherwise, riders and drivers competing in an EA competition, must wear an approved helmet with the chin strap fastened at all times. The same is recommended when riding a horse at any time.Protective headgear must conform with one of the currentapproved safety standards:

  • Current Australian standard AS/NZS 3838 (2006 onwards) provided they are SAI Global marked.
  • New Australian standard ARB HS 2012 provided they are SAI Global marked
  • Current American standards ASTM F1163 (2004a or 04a onwards) provided they are SEI marked, or SNELL E2001.
  • Current British standard PAS 015 (1998 or 2011) provided they are BSI Kitemarked.
  • Interim European Standard VG1 (01.040: 2014-12) with or without BSI Kitemark.

BSI Kitemarked:  SAI Global marked:  SEI marked: Outgoing European Standard EN/1384 during 2016 only – not permitted from 2017.

The accepted safety standards can be found at all times on the EA website HERE and in the General Regulations HERE.

Helmet Manufacturers generally recommend replacing your helmet every 5 years or so.If you have a hard-blow impact accident while wearing your helmet, immediately replace it for a new model. There may be damage to the helmet that is not visible to the naked eye.

Update 9/01/2017 

We are receiving many inquiries about Helmet Regulations and would like to reassure members. Your helmet can conform with one or several standards AT THE SAME TIME. If your helmet is approved EN1384 (the old standard no longer approved by EA) BUT ALSO approved under another standard (PAS015, ASTM F1163, VG1, etc.) then it is "good to go" !

Update 14/02/2017

Helmets marked EN1384:1996 + A1:2001 do not comply as the A1:2001 refers to an amendment of the original standard and is not a standard in it's own right.

Other Top News